The Albert Camus Prize for Short Fiction



Closed to submissions on Feb 1st. Thank you to everyone who submitted and supported the contest.

Contest results can be found here




 Entries judged by Guest Editor Khanh Ha


Photo: Khanh Ha


Khanh Ha is the author of Flesh (2012, Black Heron Press) and The Demon Who Peddled Longing (November 2014, Underground Voices). He is a three-time Pushcart nominee and the recipient of Greensboro Review’s 2014 Robert Watson Literary Prize in Fiction. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Waccamaw Journal, storySouth, Greensboro Review, The Long Story, Permafrost Magazine, Saint Ann’s Review, Moon City Review, Red Savina Review, DUCTS, ARDOR, Lunch Ticket,Cha: An Asian Literary Journal, Tayo Literary Magazine, Sugar Mule, Yellow Medicine Review, Printer’s Devil Review, Mount Hope, Thrice Fiction, Lalitamba Journal, and other fine magazines.

 What Khanh Ha looks for…

“Good fiction transcends genres. It has a voice which is its soul. That voice can be offbeat or traditional; yet it is penetrating, intelligent, and engrossing. You find out what good fiction is when you are captivated by its voice, its mood—and characterization. What we look for in your writing is a narrative that draws us in, writing that is plain and simple, or rich with detail, writing that comes alive with characters, that stirs our emotion and lingers in our minds long afterward.”  ―Khanh Ha

The Albert Camus Award for Short Fiction was created to champion writers whose short fiction explores and challenges the notion of human being in the twenty-first century. Fiction which achieves this distinction will be devoid of influences such as Political Correctness and the solipsism that taints much short fiction composed under the auspices of postmodernity. The award will be given to those writers whose fiction strips away the conceits of being human in an attempt to clear the way for human being.

Open: October 1, 2014

Deadline: February 1, 2015

Fee: $15.00 entry

Entries judged by Guest Editor Khanh Ha

The top three selections/honorable mentions will be announced in March, 2015 and published in Red Savina Review’s spring issue (2015). Date to be determined.

First prize                      $300

Second prize                 $100

Third prize                     $50

Three  honorable mentions – Mention plus publication in  Red Savina Review’s spring Issue (Online)


  • Writers may submit one or more entries. However, entrants must pay for each entry. Reading fees are non-refundable.
  • Red Savina Review follows Clmp contest guidelines.
  • Red Savina Review contains adult reading material. Therefore, you must be 18 years or older to submit to the contest.
  • Submit previously unpublished stories (word count: 5,000 words or less) via SUBMITTABLE only. No email or snail mail submissions are permitted.
  • Please include name, address, email and phone number on the first page; and page numbers and title in the running footer. Use 12-point font, double-space, Times New Roman. Submit in DocX or RTF format. Must be in English language.
  • Writers previously published in Red Savina Review are welcome to submit.
  • Staff members and/or any writer who is personally associated with Red Savina Review’s editors and/or guest editor may not submit to the contest.
  • Simultaneous submissions are welcome. Please withdraw from contest immediately if accepted elsewhere.
  • All submissions will be considered for publication in Red Savina Review’s spring issue (online, 2015). If accepted for publication, Red Savina Review reserves the right to edit.
  • Top three winners’ stories will be published in Red Savina Review’s spring issue (online, 2015). First place receives $300.00; second $100.00; third $50.00.
  • Honorable mention receives mention plus publication in Red Savina Review’s spring issue (online, 2015).
  • Results will be posted on our website.

 Closed to submissions on Feb 1st. Thank you to everyone who submitted and supported the contest. Winners will be announced in March, 2015.


Comments are closed.